Reviews

Reviews

We at Havana Grill believe that you should hear it from people who have visited the restaurant, whether it be for dinner, a function or a conference.

Use the menu below to read the different reviews.

We welcome feedback, so contact us, and tell us about your experience.

NEWSPAPER

March 11, 2005 Tonight KZN, IOL

Sub-editor Juliette Donkin enjoys a good espresso now and again, and gives a thumbs up to the tiny cup of dynamite she had recently at Havana Grill & Wine Bar, Suncoast. “It was strong and delicious and really woke me up!” she says.

October 8, 2010 The Mercury – Omeshnie Naidoo

“SUBLIME MEAL FOR FINE DINERS” The cigars the service, the wine and the meat – that’s what Havana Grill at Suncoast in Durban is known for, and the restaurant lived up to its reputation when it hosted foodie aficionados the Chains des Rôtisseurs this week.

The international gastronomic group’s members share an interest in cuisine, wine and fine dining. Dinner was a sublime affair with starters that included a delicate langoustine and smoked tomato risotto, followed by either seared Richard’s Bay line tuna with marrow bone and pearl onion bordelaise or a unique Havana fillet on the bone – the meat being free range grass beef from Greenfields in the Midlands.

Dessert was a smooth dark chocolate marquise and crème anglaise. But good food only makes for a great evening when it is accompanied by fabulous company. In this case Brigadier-General Kwena Mangope, former dlrector of corporate communication for the SANDf and his wife Rosemary, who is the divisional executive for communications at the Development Bank of Southern Africa; along with many big names in the hotel an food industry and the evening’s affable host, Martin Lombaard, among them. The Mangopes, on holiday in Durban, were invited by their good friends Sundru and Rani Pillay who recently opened the Ikusasa
School of Cooking

MAGAZINES

2004 Style magazine / Restuarant Guide

Marco Nico, Martin Lombard and Andre’ Schubert have pooled their talent to bring Havanas’ to the discerning diner, and in so doing have provided the Casino with some culinary credibility. Striking in its modern neutrality, the spotlight falls on meat, although non-takers are in no way sidelined… and it’s all done with panache

ONLINE

2004
eatout.co.za

A large, stylish restaurant, Havana offers a stunning 180-degree view over the sea, a casual vibe and top-notch service. There’s an indoor eating area, a separate smoking area and an open terrace a shell’s throw away from the sea. The top culinary team of Martin Lombard, Andre Schubert and Jose Goncalves has put the emphasis firmly on quality ingredients and meat, but there’s also a good range of fresh fish and vegetarian options. To keep the palate titillated, the team has introduced the flavours of Latin America. So say goodbye to the ubiquitous cream-based sauces and expect steaks served with a range of salsas. Even more intriguing is seviche. A Peruvian dish, it’s thinly sliced raw fish marinated in a mix of lime or lemon juice, pounded chilli, onion rings, garlic, salt and pepper. The new sushi? Full bar and a cellar boasting 1 500 bottles of the best South African wines ranging from R70 to a cool R900. Cuban cigars to round off the meal.

2004
key2south-africa-holidays.co.uk

A particular speciality is the “Capo” (lid of the Rump) which is salted and rubbed with olive oil, grilled whole, then sliced and served with Chimichurri, an Argentine coriander salsa. They also specialise in fresh line fish, prawns, langoustines and crayfish when available. They have an extensive wine list and Cuban imported cigars. Depending on the weather, ask for a table on the outside balcony area for the best views.

30 November 2003
theorudman.com

El Cubana, the famous Cuban style restaurant in Durban, closed in June and owner, Martin Lombard, opened a new 323 seat restaurant, called the Havana Grill & Wine Bar in the new extension at Suncoast Casino and Entertainment World (Suncoast) on Durban’s North Beach. Around 80 percent of all seats have a sea view. The whole front of the 100 seat smoking section is enclosed with large glass panes. As with El Cubano, cigars are an important attributes and currently the list includes about 20 different Cuban cigars. This will shortly be increased when a new, large built-in humidor is installed.

March 08, 2005
News 24

Nick rated this restaurant and comments – March 08, 2005 Havana Grill is an excellent restuarant. All their food is amazing and they do the best starters in durban. The atmosphere is trendy yet relaxed and the staff are always clued up and very friendly.

05 August 2008
Guest

Thank you so much for accommodating my husband and his work colleagues in the private dining room last night. They had a wonderful time and he said the food was amazing – like I knew it would be.

30 October 2008
Food 24

Absolutely fantastic service and food! Will definitely be going back!

OTHER

25 April 2005 Quintin Pinchin
“.. we were all impresed,….thanks to all for an excellent meal, with great professional staff.”

13 April 2005 Ronelle Nadasen
“I find it a need to compliment the staff and management at Havana Grill for the excellent service/treatment when I celebrated my birthday on the 09 April. The atmosphere was great, just what i was looking for. I have recommended your restaurant to all my friends…….I will definitely be calling again.”

04 August 2008 Sarah Brown
Wow! What a success! Thank you SO much. Honestly, this is the first time in a couple of years that I have had a successful eating experience – personal or business. No one seems to care any more about the food being served, or the type of service being offered and you guys were absolutely top class. Honestly – I am so thankful for your close attention to detail.

01 July 2008 Estelle Viljoen
We had a fantastic time on Saturday – everything was extra special and your staff all wonderful and very helpful The food and the cocktails were absolutely divine Thanks for making our daughter’s 21st such a
special event

02 June 2008 Mr Singh
” On behalf of my family, I just want to say THANK YOU so much to you and all the staff who worked so hard in making our mum’s surprise party at Havana Grill a success. We really do appreciate the organisation, assistance, wonderful ideas and suggestions that contributed tremendously in creating our cherished memories. It was a perfect evening!!”

02 June 2008 Mr Singh
” On behalf of my family, I just want to say THANK YOU so much to you and all the staff who worked so hard in making our mum’s surprise party at Havana Grill a success. We really do appreciate the organisation, assistance, wonderful ideas and suggestions that contributed tremendously in creating our cherished memories. It was a perfect evening!!”

05 May 2008 Lee-Ann
” Just wanted to say thanks a mil for the event. It was stunning and you were great…as usual. We’re having more events in Durban and Havana is definitely on the top of our list for venues. ”

29 April 2008 Nicci
” Greetings from The Ventures Group! Thank you sooOO much for all your help and assistance with our Murder Mystery Dinner the other night. I really appreciated the extra effort everyone went to in order to make the evening a success and our lives that little bit easier. ”

12 November 2007 Reshnee
” This mail is just to advise that I had a great time on Saturday night. The food was great and the service impeccable. ”

19 November 2007 Monica Baxter
” Once again – Thank you to everyone for ensuring our function went off so professionally on Saturday night! The service – fantastic!! The food – absolutely great!! The babysitting service – Carlos, much appreciated – the little party animal will be recommending you to all his mates!!! See you
next year!! ”

19 November 2007 Mr Pather
” I was one of the guests at the Xmas party on Saturday Night at the Havana Grill. On Sunday morning I realised that I had left my cell phone at the restaurant. I took a chance and called your restaurant with little hope of recovering my phone. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the phone was found, handed in & on charge in the mangers office. It is so refreshing to know that in a country that is riddled with crime that there are still honest citizens out there. Thank you soo much to you & your staff , I am so impressed with them. We had a lovely evening, the food was great & we will definitely be back. Thanks again. ”

3 December 2007 Haines
” Just wanting to say a huge thanks for a great evening on Friday, we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and suffered very sore heads on saturday, please would you extend our thanks to our waiters who were very patient with 18 “very merry” people. ”

11 December 2008 Mr Padayachie
” Dear Manager / Owner, I hosted my company function at your establishment on the evening of the 7th December 2007. I was most impressed with the most delectable food and exceptional service. Your staff were most accommodating, to the point where they kept your amazing restaurant open, until we were ready to leave. I must add that through the years of hosting staff functions at various establishments, this will go down as the absolute best! As we ponder about the quality of service levels in South Africa before the start of the 2010 spectacle, I can safely say that you have nothing to worry about. I extend my sincere gratitude, and thanks, to all of your staff members that attended to my guests. I will certainly refer your establishment to everyone that I know. Well done to your super team. ”

18 February 2008 Theresa Van Heerden
” Once again, thanks from the management and award recipients for the great afternoon that we spent with you at Havanna Grill. The function went off exceptionally well. The food, the service, the view – was all that we asked for and more! Your staff ensured everything went off like clockwork and their integrity was unquestionable! We have had great feedback with regards to the entire function! Look forward to dining there again. ”

10 April 2008 Janet Welch
” Thank you again for everything and as I said in my call to you, your absolute professionalism and attendance to detail. I look forward to working with you again. ”

28 June 2011 Anonymous
“Unexpected perfection! We went to Durban recently and had the most delicious meal at Havana’s. My boyfriend had a salad to start…and it was SO big (should be a main) that he couldn’t even finish half. He then had the Pork Belly Special which was delicious. I had a chicken and prawn pasta which was excellent! The dessert was the BEST! The Chocolate Fondant was the best I’ve eaten, EVER!”

Contemporary & Stylish Dining in Umhlanga Village