Reviews

Reviews

We at Little Havana believe that you should hear it from people who have visited the restaurant, whether it be for dinner, a function or a conference.

Use the menu below to read the different reviews.

We welcome feedback, so contact us, and tell us about your experience.

NEWSPAPER

March 11, 2005 Tonight KZN, IOL

Sub-editor Juliette Donkin enjoys a good espresso now and again, and gives a thumbs up to the tiny cup of dynamite she had recently at Havana Grill & Wine Bar, Suncoast. “It was strong and delicious and really woke me up!” she says.

October 8, 2010 The Mercury – Omeshnie Naidoo

“SUBLIME MEAL FOR FINE DINERS” The cigars the service, the wine and the meat – that’s what Havana Grill at Suncoast in Durban is known for, and the restaurant lived up to its reputation when it hosted foodie aficionados the Chains des Rôtisseurs this week.

The international gastronomic group’s members share an interest in cuisine, wine and fine dining. Dinner was a sublime affair with starters that included a delicate langoustine and smoked tomato risotto, followed by either seared Richard’s Bay line tuna with marrow bone and pearl onion bordelaise or a unique Havana fillet on the bone – the meat being free range grass beef from Greenfields in the Midlands.

Dessert was a smooth dark chocolate marquise and crème anglaise. But good food only makes for a great evening when it is accompanied by fabulous company. In this case Brigadier-General Kwena Mangope, former dlrector of corporate communication for the SANDf and his wife Rosemary, who is the divisional executive for communications at the Development Bank of Southern Africa; along with many big names in the hotel an food industry and the evening’s affable host, Martin Lombaard, among them. The Mangopes, on holiday in Durban, were invited by their good friends Sundru and Rani Pillay who recently opened the Ikusasa
School of Cooking

MAGAZINES

2004 Style magazine / Restuarant Guide

Marco Nico, Martin Lombard and Andre’ Schubert have pooled their talent to bring Havanas’ to the discerning diner, and in so doing have provided the Casino with some culinary credibility. Striking in its modern neutrality, the spotlight falls on meat, although non-takers are in no way sidelined… and it’s all done with panache

ONLINE

2004
eatout.co.za

A large, stylish restaurant, Havana offers a stunning 180-degree view over the sea, a casual vibe and top-notch service. There’s an indoor eating area, a separate smoking area and an open terrace a shell’s throw away from the sea. The top culinary team of Martin Lombard, Andre Schubert and Jose Goncalves has put the emphasis firmly on quality ingredients and meat, but there’s also a good range of fresh fish and vegetarian options. To keep the palate titillated, the team has introduced the flavours of Latin America. So say goodbye to the ubiquitous cream-based sauces and expect steaks served with a range of salsas. Even more intriguing is seviche. A Peruvian dish, it’s thinly sliced raw fish marinated in a mix of lime or lemon juice, pounded chilli, onion rings, garlic, salt and pepper. The new sushi? Full bar and a cellar boasting 1 500 bottles of the best South African wines ranging from R70 to a cool R900. Cuban cigars to round off the meal.

2004
key2south-africa-holidays.co.uk

A particular speciality is the “Capo” (lid of the Rump) which is salted and rubbed with olive oil, grilled whole, then sliced and served with Chimichurri, an Argentine coriander salsa. They also specialise in fresh line fish, prawns, langoustines and crayfish when available. They have an extensive wine list and Cuban imported cigars. Depending on the weather, ask for a table on the outside balcony area for the best views.

30 November 2003
theorudman.com

El Cubana, the famous Cuban style restaurant in Durban, closed in June and owner, Martin Lombard, opened a new 323 seat restaurant, called the Havana Grill & Wine Bar in the new extension at Suncoast Casino and Entertainment World (Suncoast) on Durban’s North Beach. Around 80 percent of all seats have a sea view. The whole front of the 100 seat smoking section is enclosed with large glass panes. As with El Cubano, cigars are an important attributes and currently the list includes about 20 different Cuban cigars. This will shortly be increased when a new, large built-in humidor is installed.

March 08, 2005
News 24

Nick rated this restaurant and comments – March 08, 2005 Havana Grill is an excellent restuarant. All their food is amazing and they do the best starters in durban. The atmosphere is trendy yet relaxed and the staff are always clued up and very friendly.

05 August 2008
Guest

Thank you so much for accommodating my husband and his work colleagues in the private dining room last night. They had a wonderful time and he said the food was amazing – like I knew it would be.

30 October 2008
Food 24

Absolutely fantastic service and food! Will definitely be going back!

OTHER

26 June 2017 Lorraine Caine
“.. Brilliant food. Good ambience. Lovely outing for family and friends. We’ve frequented this lunchtime offer a no. Of times now and the value is hard to beat.”

19 June 2017 Michelle Pellegrini
 Fantastic Saturday afternoon lunch, awesome service, great food choices ..without a doubt one of our favorite places to dine. Love this place.

25 April 2017 Zindzie Mbatha
“I visited the Little Havanna on the 23.04.17 and i was celebrating my birthday there, from the moment we walked in we got the best service ever, from the Managers to the staff and to Top it all up was the Extra mile they went to make sure that we got everything and my Day was perfect, last but not least the food was amazing from the Plaiting to the Taste it was Divine, I thank every one from the Back of house to the Front those we saw and those who played the role behind the Scene Thank You and we will be visiting again soon.”

2017  Anne – Maree Lowu Smith
Our first visit here and it was superb. Their lunch menu is also excellent value. We’ll be back to try other options.

10 April 2017 Raginie Murugan
Husbands choice for my birthdy supper…food was awesome…atmosphere was great…my waitress was da sweetest ever…great service…staff constantly checked in on us to see if were good. Will definitely return and recommend to family and friends.

02 June 2008 Mr Singh
” On behalf of my family, I just want to say THANK YOU so much to you and all the staff who worked so hard in making our mum’s surprise party at Havana Grill a success. We really do appreciate the organisation, assistance, wonderful ideas and suggestions that contributed tremendously in creating our cherished memories. It was a perfect evening!!”

02 June 2008 Mr Singh
” On behalf of my family, I just want to say THANK YOU so much to you and all the staff who worked so hard in making our mum’s surprise party at Havana Grill a success. We really do appreciate the organisation, assistance, wonderful ideas and suggestions that contributed tremendously in creating our cherished memories. It was a perfect evening!!”

05 May 2008 Lee-Ann
” Just wanted to say thanks a mil for the event. It was stunning and you were great…as usual. We’re having more events in Durban and Havana is definitely on the top of our list for venues. ”

29 April 2008 Nicci
” Greetings from The Ventures Group! Thank you sooOO much for all your help and assistance with our Murder Mystery Dinner the other night. I really appreciated the extra effort everyone went to in order to make the evening a success and our lives that little bit easier. ”

12 November 2007 Reshnee
” This mail is just to advise that I had a great time on Saturday night. The food was great and the service impeccable. ”

19 November 2007 Monica Baxter
” Once again – Thank you to everyone for ensuring our function went off so professionally on Saturday night! The service – fantastic!! The food – absolutely great!! The babysitting service – Carlos, much appreciated – the little party animal will be recommending you to all his mates!!! See you
next year!! ”

 

 

 

Contemporary & Stylish Dining in Umhlanga Village